Our Staff


2021 good photo.JPG

Adam C. King, AICP


Adam has worked for the Hardin County Planning & Development Commission since 2008. He worked as a Planner from 2008 – 2013, served as the Assistant Director from 2013 - 2017 and was promoted to the Director & Building Official in September of 2017. Prior to his work in Hardin County, he worked in Public History / Historic Preservation with the Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana and the Jefferson Memorial Forest. Adam is a graduate of duPont Manual High School in Louisville, KY, has a Bachelor of Arts in History/Political Science from the University of Louisville (2004), and a Master of Urban Planning from the University of Louisville (2007). He currently serves as the Vice Chairman of the Technical Advisory Committee of the Radcliff-Elizabethtown Metropolitan Planning Organization and as the President-Elect, Awards Chair & APA Policy Delegate for the KY Chapter of the American Planning Association. In his free time he enjoys running, traveling and spending time outdoors with his wife and two sons.


Madeline Hornback

KBC Coordinator

Madeline has been the KBC Coordinator with the Hardin County Planning & Development Commission for nearly 28 years.  Madeline began working for the Planning Office in 1991 until 1997.  From February 1997 to November 1998 she worked in the Japanese Language Program for Hardin County Schools.  She returned to the Planning Office in November 1998.  Madeline grew up on the Krahn family farm near Glendale and is a graduate of East Hardin High School.  Madeline is the widow of  Ray Hornback.  She has 2 sons and 4 stepdaughters. She lives in the Sonora area where her  hobbies are gardening and fishing. 


Susan Bowen

Financial & Operations Coordinator

Susan is a Hardin County native that joined the Hardin County Planning & Development Commission as the Administrative Assistant in the fall of 2013. Prior to the Commission, Susan had been in the medical profession for 30+ years. She attended East Hardin High School  and Elizabethtown Community College. Susan has a passion for gardening, spending time with family and friends, and going to the lake.

Nikki Pic for Website.jpg


Nikki McCamish

Nikki joined the Hardin County Planning and Development Commission in November of 2020. From Sept. 2017 – Oct. 2020, she was the Engineering Technician for Hardin County Government. She is a graduate of Central Hardin High School (2013); and later received her Bachelors of Science in Environmental Science in May of 2017 from Campbellsville University. Nikki enjoys helping out on her family’s farm and being outdoors.


Planning & Permit Technician

Haley Goodman

Haley has been with the Hardin County Planning & Development Commission as the Planning Technician since June of 2021. She graduated from Western Kentucky University in May of 2020 with a Bachelors degree in Geography with a concentration in Environmental Studies & GIS, and a minor in Agriculture. She is a Hardin County native & graduated from Central Hardin High School in 2017. Haley previously worked for the Natural Resources Conservation Service in Nelson County, Kentucky. In her free time she enjoys hiking, photography, and yoga.


KBC Assistant

Julia McBeth

Julia has been with the Hardin County Planning & Development Commission as a Planning & KBC Assistant starting in the Fall of 2017. From 2014 - 2017, she was a Caseworker with the Hardin County Attorney’s Office, Child Support Division. She is a life-long resident of Elizabethtown & graduated from Elizabethtown High School in 1998. Julia enjoys spending time with her husband, children, extended family, friends, and attending church.


Administrative Assistant

Michaila Barren

Michaila was raised and received all of her education in Hardin County. As a graduate of North Hardin High School in 2016, she went on to receive her Associate in Science from ECTC in 2018, followed by her Bachelor’s in Elementary Education in 2020 from the WKU branch located in Elizabethtown. She worked as a receptionist for the Swope Family of Dealerships from 2018 to 2021. In 2020 she started working for Hardin County Schools as well. She began as a fifth grade instructional assistant, before becoming a third grade teacher. Michaila then joined the Hardin County Planning & Development Commission in August of 2022. In her free time, she enjoys painting, porch sitting, spending time with loved ones, and spoiling her German Shepherd. 


Edwin Alicea

Building Inspector

Edwin joined the Hardin County Planning and Development Commission in October 2020. Prior to his work in Hardin County, he worked in the Department of Housing, Building and Construction for the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Edwin is a Retired Army Veteran and worked as Construction Engineer during his time in the service. Edwin received his bachelor's degree in Business Administration from WKU in 2016 upon his retirement. He is originally from Lawrence, Massachusetts and has decided to stay in Elizabethtown. Edwin is a die-hard Boston sports fan. He enjoys helping other veterans, spending time with his family and friends.


Jimmy Morgan

Building Inspector

Jimmy has been with Hardin County Planning & Development since 2007 on a part-time basis.  He has been married to his wife Barbara for 31 years and has 8 grandchildren and 6 great-grandchildren with 4 more on the way.  He graduated from West Hardin High School in 1972 and attended Elizabethtown Community & Technical College studying carpentry and blue prints.  His hobbies are hunting, fishing and taking vacations to the Smoky Mountains.


Greg Carwile

Electrical Inspector

Greg is a Grayson County native who became Electrical Inspector for Hardin County in November 2022. Prior to being an Electrical Inspector, Greg was a self-employed electrical contractor for 6 years. Prior to starting his own business, he worked as a commercial and industrial electrician for 7 years. He attended Grayson County High School from 1995-1999. Greg is a man of God that enjoys camping and fellowship with family and friends. He is married and has three children.

Planning Commission Members

Mark Hinton


Term ends April 2025

Greg Lowe

Vice Chairman

Term ends April 2023

Steve Steck


Term ends April 2023

Charles Nall


Term ends April 2026

Mark Nelson


Term ends April 2025


Board of Adjustment Members

Robert A. Krausman


Term ends June 2023

Greg Youngblood

Vice Chairman

Term ends June 2026

Steve Steck


Term ends June 2025